Page 1 of 2

The Dizzy Zone making a comeback

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:46 pm
by geekgirl101
It's been how many years since I redesigned the site and left it an empty shell? I've decided to start working on it once more and bringing it back to its former glory. As usual these things do take time in organizing and locating materials to recreate a fan site, and with a house move in 3 days it's a rush to try to get as much done before everything goes dead for about a week or two (depending on how long it takes to get reconnected at our new home.) It sure would be nice to come back into the community once more.

Unfortunately due to squatters I'm unable to recover the url dizzyzone.org that I once owned 12 years ago so I'm having to base the site off my home address, but after the house move I'll see what I can do to reclaim it.

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:41 pm
by geekgirl101
Well it was determined I wouldn't be able to reclaim the old url, but I was able to get dizzyzone.org.uk :D

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:36 am
by Adz.M
It's good to see The Dizzy Zone is coming back. :)

It was the first Dizzy site I'd actually came across back in 2001 (followed by Yolkfolk of course ;) ) I remember the menu links were all different colours and there was a page called the Spectrum gallery which showed of loads of Spectrum images.

If there's anything you need help with, feel free to let us know. :)

I have a links page to update. :p

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:58 pm
by geekgirl101
Cheers Adz, I already pinched quite a lot from yolkfolk.com but I've left room for yolkfolk.com exclusive content and things I felt were best left as yolkfolk.com exclusive. :)

Maybe your javascript skills are better than mine, I did some hunting around for lightboxes since clicking on an image to open in a new window is so pre-2010 now :P, and I came across fancybox which coincidentally is what yolkfolk.com is using. But I can't for the life of me work out how to get the darned thing to expand an image in the whole screen area rather than confined to the iframe it's linked on. Seen so many demonstrations and people stating how to do it in a dozen different ways but every time I try their advice the image goes full screen inside the iframe.

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:17 pm
by Adz.M
I'm no expert when it comes to HTML and javascripts etc. :laugh:

Before he left, Peter was behind most of the javascript features on the site like the fancybox.
It was an absolutely time consuming job updating certain pages getting the fancybox to work. :p

My role on this site is mostly updating various pages, news updates, adding fangames to the database and typing up the Keldor Newsletter. :)

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:41 pm
by geekgirl101
Dang, ah well hope someone from the stack overflow forums can help me with that one before I go offline. Just got the keys today and had a good nosey around the new house. Tony says it's a good time to get the keys as he'll be able to sign up with our broadband dealer and that should reduce offline to 2 days instead of 2 weeks (theoretically!) Are you applying the fancybox images using arrays? I heard it's a lot easier, just give the image a class or id and put it in an array and the script should then just pick it up and plant it in a lightbox.

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 9:44 pm
by Adz.M
geekgirl101 wrote:Are you applying the fancybox images using arrays? I heard it's a lot easier, just give the image a class or id and put it in an array and the script should then just pick it up and plant it in a lightbox.
How It's done on the site's Control Panel is I click the image on the page editor and choose the 'Insert/Edit Link' function where I put the image's URL as a hyperlink as I normally do.

The Insert Link function on there also has an Advanced tab, and on there is a 'Classes' field where I have to type in fancybox manually, then on the 'Relationship page to Target' field I have to select 'Gallery'.

After that it works fine. I can even had a description of the image on the 'Title' field in the General tab.

Sorry if any of that doesn't make sense, That's the way I tend to explain things. :v2_dizzy_blush:

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:23 pm
by Meph
cool, you've added my mates old review of TUCA. nice.

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:35 pm
by geekgirl101
Adz.M wrote:How It's done on the site's Control Panel is I click the image on the page editor and choose the 'Insert/Edit Link' function where I put the image's URL as a hyperlink as I normally do.

The Insert Link function on there also has an Advanced tab, and on there is a 'Classes' field where I have to type in fancybox manually, then on the 'Relationship page to Target' field I have to select 'Gallery'.

After that it works fine. I can even had a description of the image on the 'Title' field in the General tab.

Sorry if any of that doesn't make sense, That's the way I tend to explain things. :v2_dizzy_blush:
Not at all. Sounds like the site is using a web builder with a suitable interface, but yeah can imagine the first day changing all images was a royal pain in the butt.
Meph wrote:cool, you've added my mates old review of TUCA. nice.
Hope he doesn't mind. :v2_dizzy_smile: If you can give me his name I can put him in the thanks/credits if he's not there already.

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:33 am
by Meph
Nah he wont mind, more people will click on it.
His vid are so much better theses days, that must have been one of his early vids. Bit of a retro game freak, he was a friend from college..10 years ago.

https://www.youtube.com/user/davidhass3lh0ff
https://www.facebook.com/michaelsretrog ... ws?fref=ts